‘Death in Paradise’ Season 8 Cast – New Character Joins for 2019

It may be a while before series 8 of Death in Paradise begins airing on BBC One, but filming has already commenced over in the Caribbean for the new season.

As is often the case with Death in Paradise, the new series brings with it a change in cast line-up. This time one of the shows original cast members, Danny John-Jules, who plays the character Officer Dwayne Myers, will be exiting the light-hearted murder mystery.

Replacing Dwayne in the team will be Officer Ruby Patterson, who’ll be played by up-and-coming actress Shyko Amos. You’ll also get to watch Shyko starring in the three-part BBC miniseries A Very English Scandal, which should be on our screens sometime in 2018.

Death in Paradise fans can be assured though that the rest of the crime series’ regular characters will be returning, including Ardal O’Hanlon as Detective Inspector Jack Mooney and French actress Joséphine Jobert as DS Florence Cassell.

Although an exact start date obviously hasn’t yet been announced for Death in Paradise series 8, providing the usual scheduling routine is maintained, we should get another eight-episode series coming to BBC1 in January, 2019, right in time to provide some sunny escapism from the cold, dark British winter.