New 2014 series of ‘Shetland’ starts this March on BBC One

Jimmy Perez (DOUGLAS HENSHALL) - Image Credit: BBC/ITV Studios. Photographer: Mark Mainz

Detective Jimmy Perez (DOUGLAS HENSHALL): In series 2 of Shetland (2014) – Image Credit: BBC/ITV Studios. Photographer: Mark Mainz

Following its original two-episode run last year, Shetland is scheduled to return to the BBC in March, 2014 for a full length second series.

Airing on BBC One, the murder-mystery series will feature 6 episodes divided into three, two-part tales.

Lead cast members Douglas Henshall, Steven Robertson and Alison O’Donnell all return to the show, playing the roles of Detective Jimmy Perez, Sandy Wilson and Alison ‘Tosh’ McIntosh respectively. The three will now be joined by actress Julie Graham who plays the part of procurator fiscal (public prosecutor), Rhona Kelly.

Over the course of the series, you can also keep a look out for a number of guest stars including Alex Norton, Brian Cox, David Hayman, Nina Sosanya, Bill Paterson and John Lynch.

Episode Guide

Story 1 (Episodes 1 & 2) The team investigate a crime from the past in order to help them solve the fresh murder of 17-year-old Catherine Ross, who’s discovered dead on a secluded beach.

Story 2 (Episodes 3 & 4) Suspicions arise when it appears the seemingly accidental death of a journalist may actually be linked to the opposition of a gas pipeline.

Story 3 (Episodes 5 & 6) Following a scientists murder on Fair Isle, Detective Perez must return to his childhood home in attempt to solve the case. However, due to a storm on the mainland, Jimmy is forced to conduct the investigation alone.

It’s now been officially confirmed that the new series of Shetland will premiere at 9:00pm on Tuesday, 11 March, 2014 on BBC One.

Cast List

Actor/Actress – Character

DOUGLAS HENSHALL – Detective Jimmy Perez


ALISON O’DONNELL – Alison McIntosh

JULIE GRAHAM – Rhona Kelly

MARK BONNAR – Duncan Hunter

Guest Stars

BRIAN COX – Magnus Bain

NINA SOSANYA – Willow Reeves

ALEX NORTON – Cameron Watt

CLIVE RUSSELL – Adam Markham

DAVID HAYMAN – Joe Dalhousie

JOHN LYNCH – Frank Blake


BBC Renew Shetland for a Third Series