‘The Crimson Field’ BBC Drama Cast List

Cast of ‘The Crimson Field’: World War One drama series starring Oona Chaplin, Suranne Jones, Hermione Norris and Kevin Doyle.

As part of the BBC’s selection of programming marking the centenary of The Great War, new period drama ‘The Crimson Field’ brings viewers one of the conflicts untold stories.

Set in a tented field hospital on the coast of France, a group of British doctors, nurses and female volunteers work to save the many soldiers wounded during the horrific trench warfare. We also find the makeshift medical centre not only acts as a boundary between the home front and the battlefield, but also between old rules and a new way of thinking.

The Crimson Field BBC Cast - Image Credit: BBC/Todd Anthony

The Crimson Field TV Series Cast – Image Credit: BBC/Todd Anthony

The Crimson Field Cast List

Pictured above are the shows lead recurring cast members, they are:

Character Name – Actress/Actor

Kitty Trevelyan – Oona Chaplin (Game of Thrones, Dates)

Sister Joan Livesey – Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey, A Touch of Cloth)

Flora Marshall – Alice St Clair (William & Catherine: A Royal Romance – 2011 US TV Movie)

Matron Grace Carter – Hermione Norris (Spooks, In the Club)

Lieutenant-Colonel Roland Brett – Kevin Doyle (Downton Abbey, The Tudors)

Sister Margaret Quayle – Kerry Fox

Captain Thomas Gillan – Richard Rankin

Captain Miles Hesketh-Thorne – Alex Wyndham

Corporal Peter Foley – Jack Gordon

Rosalie Berwick – Marianne Oldham


Additional Cast by Episode of First Appearance

Episode 1/6

Tommy – Liam Loughrey

Transport Sergeant – Mark Roper

Private Elias Molloy – Michael Nardone

Padre – Simon Wilson

QMS Reggie Soper – Jeremy Swift

Lance Corporal Lawrence Prentiss – Karl Davies

Colonel Charles Purbright – Adam James

Patient Hemming – Guy Rhys

Soldier Lucky – William Troughton

Image Credit: BBC/Nick Wall

Actress Oona Chaplin as Kitty Trevelyan in The Crimson Field – Image Credit: BBC/Nick Wall

Episode 2/6

Private Jackie Byeford – Tommy McDonnell

Private George Shoemaker – Bradley John

Maj Edward Crecy – Rupert Graves

Noah Shoemaker – Fraser James

Adelinde Crecy – Jodhi May

Nurse Helen Jesmond – Lucinda Raikes

Pte Cooper – Alex Blake

Rosalie’s Soldier – Christopher Leveaux

Episode 3/6

Private Albert Nicholls – Phil Cheadle

Major Gerard Yelland – Nicholas Burns

Sergeant Aloysius McCafferty – Lorcan Cranitch

Lance Corporal Enda Peache – Kerr Logan

Mathilde Tillens – Abigail Eames

Jaco Tillens – Daniel Betts

Corporal Bryce Wingfield – Jamie Ballard

Private Bernard Mostyn – Jack Parry-Jones

QMS Reggie Soper – Jeremy Swift

Episode 4/6

Elliot Vincent – Samuel West

Private Wilfred ‘Dad’ Tyrell – Lee Ingleby

Private Raymond Deeley – David Walmsley

Private Charlie Dawlish – Dan Parr

Captain Osberton – Geoffrey Kirkness

Lucky 13s – Sam Benjamin

Lucky 13s – Nicholas Deacon

Lucky 13s – Jay Johnson

Lucky 13s – Chris Pybus

Episode 5/6

Major Jocelyn Ballard – Peter Sullivan

Private Benny Gorman – Jason Maza

Anton Erhlich – Stephan Luca

Episode 6/6 Series Finale

Military Policeman – Anthony Gabriel

Private Jimmy Foley – Billy Cook

Private Greville Parry – Paul Hilton

Chinnery – Joss Porter


The Beeb today released the above trailer for this brand new drama series, which starts in Spring 2014 on BBC One. The exact premiere date and time for The Crimson Field has now been officially announced as Sunday, 6 April at 9:00pm.