The Hollow Crown: The Wars Of The Roses – Early BBC Cast List Announced for Henry VI and Richard III Adaptations

Further names have today been added to the cast of BBC Two’s new adaptations, The Hollow Crown: The Wars Of The Roses, and there’s some big stars to look out for.

Following the previous BAFTA Award-winning Hollow Crown productions for the BBC, this new series will consist of three television broadcasts: Henry VI over two parts and Richard III in one.

Early Cast List

Character – Actor/Actress

Richard III – Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock, Parade’s End)

Cecily, Duchess of York – Judi Dench (Angelina Ballerina, As Time Goes By)

Queen Margaret – Sophie Okonedo (Mrs Mandela, Criminal Justice)

Humphrey, Duke of Gloucester – Hugh Bonneville (Downton Abbey, Twenty Twelve, W1A)

Eleanor, Duchess of Gloucester – Sally Hawkins (Fingersmith, Persuasion)

Henry VI – Tom Sturridge (A Waste of Shame)

Queen Elizabeth – Keeley Hawes (Upstairs, Downstairs, AmbassadorsLine of Duty, Doctor Who series 8)

Speaking about the casting news, Ben Stephenson, Controller, BBC Drama Commissioning, said: “Building on the critical success of The Hollow Crown, this extraordinary cast and production team will raise the bar of British drama once more and build on BBC Two’s reputation for distinctive drama.”

The executive producer for Neal Street Productions, Pippa Harris, said: “To have the chance to work with some of Britain’s most talented actors is a dream come true. We couldn’t be more delighted to have them on board.”